Curriculum for Excellence

The 4 Capacities

Curriculum for Excellence, a framework for all Scottish educational establishments 3-18, offers educational outcomes for all young people with choice and opportunities for achievement.

We aim for our pupils to become:

  • successful learners
  • confident individuals
  • responsible citizens
  • effective contributors

The experiences and outcomes under Curriculum for Excellence are written at five levels, with progression to qualifications described under the senior phase.

Early Level: The pre school years and P1 or later for some
First Level: To the end of P4, but earlier or later for some
Second Level: To the end of P7, but earlier or later for some
Third and Fourth: Level S1 to S3, but earlier for some
Senior Phase: S4-S6 and college or other means for study

© 2009-2019 Education Services, Inverclyde Council